SHoP Wins AIA | DC Grand Award

SHoP has won the AIA | DC Design Awards “Grand Award” for Midtown Center. The jury called the project “‘a change agent,’ taking the downtown DC office building to a whole new level.”

John Cerone at the Architectural League

On May 30 at 7pm, John Cerone will participate in a panel called “New Methods, New Materials”, organized by the Architectural League of NY as part of their series titled, “The Housing System”. The panel will address the promises and pitfalls of technological innovations and material advances in housing production. Tickets are free and open to all, but reservations are required.

SHoP Unveils New Office Annex for US Embassy in Bangkok

The US Department of State’s Bureau of Overseas Buildings Operations selected SHoP to design the New Office Annex (NOX) for the United States Embassy in Thailand. NOX is designed for Embassy’s 11-acre property in Bangkok’s Pathum Wan district. The plot was formerly home to a smaller building that served as offices until the mid-1990s.

MEET the AEC All-Stars

Dana Getman, an associate principal at SHoP, along with Leah Nanpei, director, and Victoire Saby and Dana Wu, senior associates, will participate in a panel discussion hosted by Thornton Tomasetti titled, “MEET the AEC All-Stars” on May 2.

Christopher Morse at TECH+ Expo NYC

Interactive visualization associate Christopher Morse will participate in a panel titled, “Immersive Storytelling: Visualization and Creating the Big Picture for Clients and Collaborators” during the TECH+ Expo in NYC on June 13. TECH+ brings together game-changers in architecture, engineering, construction and real estate, sharing the newest technologies to help design, collaborate and deliver projects efficiently.

Angelica Baccon at Brooklyn Designs

On Saturday, May 11 from 3-4pm, Angelica Baccon, Associate Principal, will participate in a panel titled “The New Brooklyn Waterfront: Bold Architecture Transforming the Skyline and Coastline”. Josephine Minutillo (Features Editor at Architectural Record), in conversation with Angelica and Jason Long (Partner at OMA New York) will discuss ambitious residential developments at Greenpoint Landing and the Domino Sugar Factory site.

The Office Restroom Finally Gets Its Makeover

The office restroom, often the worst space in any building, is the final frontier of the workplace makeover. Companies are remodeling water closets to meet rising expectations of staff who demand elevated designs on par with the rest of their modern workspaces. “We focus on all of the senses,” says Paris Smith, head of brand at Company, a tech campus that rents space in a building near New York’s Grand Central Terminal.

The Hot New Amenity in NYC’s Latest Park? Mussels

The new Pier 35 features a habitat for mussels and what will be the city’s largest green wall.

Historic Bank Buildings Get a Second Act

“The new tower, which is expected to be completed in 2022, will be deferential to the landmark, but not derivative,” said Gregg Pasquarelli, a principal at SHoP Architects, the designer. “The hexagonal geometry of the building, seen in its ornate tile and coffered ceilings, will be echoed in the shape of the new structure.”

Gregg Pasquarelli to Jury NYCxDESIGN Awards

Gregg Pasquarelli will serve on the jury for the NYCxDESIGN Awards, presented by Interior Design and ICFF. The 4th Annual NYCxDESIGN Awards celebrates outstanding achievement across major areas of design—from architecture to interiors, products to accessories and craft to technology. Winners will be announced on May 20.